carrot soup – with a twist

Standard

Yesterday, when I did the grocery shopping, I bought a little bottle of star anise. (I love aniseed. When I was little, aniseed balls were one of my favourite sweets; they used to be 8 for a penny at Mr Montgomery’s dairy. The fact that NZ has had decimal currency since 1967 tells you that I was little a loooong time ago 🙂 ) I bought it, because I wanted to see if I could recreate the lovely soup we had for dinner at Scotts Epicurean, the previous week. And I had a go for today’s lunch.

First, I melted 25 g of butter in a large saucepan, before adding a finely-sliced brown onion & a minced clove of garlic & setting them to cook gently. On top went 2 medium potatoes, cut into small dice (I don’t usually bother peeling spuds if they’re going into soup; I just give them a good scrub). Once the onion was becoming translucent I added 6 peeled carrots, sliced about 5 mm thick, 2 star anise, and 1 L of chicken stock. Then I covered the pan & left everything to simmer very gently while I took the dog for a walk.

When we got back I put some scuffins in the oven, then pureed the soup with my trusty stick blender & served it – once the scuffins were cooked, with a spoonful of sour cream in each bowl. (It’s on Scotts’ brunch menu with creme fraiche, but I didn’t have any.)

Success! The husband said, this tastes just like what we had at Scotts the other night 😀

Leave a Reply

