pumpkin risotto

Standard

This year we have a plethora of petite pumpkins – the shot below shows rather less than half the crop. Pretty, aren’t they? We decided to grow mini-pumpkins as while the husband & I love them, the daughter has them on her list of Food to Avoid If Possible. (No accounting for some tastes…) Anyway, the seed packets informed us that we’d get just 3-4 fruit per plant, so we planted quite a few, wanting to try the different varieties on offer. And most of the plants grew like Topsy & produced a dozen or so cute little pumpkins. Which, as well as looking gorgeous, taste great. I just need to come up with a range of ways to cook them.

pumpkins!

So the other night, I made pumpkin risotto. First up, I cut two of our larger fruit in half, scooped out the seeds, & put them cut side down in a baking tray lined with a teflon sheet before baking them at 180 degrees C until soft – about 45 minutes. When they were done, the cut surfaces were slightly caramelised, giving added depth to the flavour.

While that was happening I started in on the risotto part of the meal. A thinly-sliced onion went into one of my big saucepans with 25 g of butter & a splash of olive oil, to soften over a low heat. After 5 or so minutes I added several cloves of garlic, peeled & sliced, followed by 2 c of arborio rice. I stirred all that together until the rice started to go translucent round the edges & was glisteningly covered with the butter/oil.

At which point I opened a bottle of the rather nice 2011 Villa Maria gewurtztraminer, added 250 ml to the rice – & poured myself a glass as well 🙂  – then stirred everything together & turned the heat right down, so that it was all barely simmering. Once the liquid was almost all absorbed, I started adding a litre of hot vegetable stock (again, 250 ml at a time), stirring & then leaving each lot of liquid to be absorbed before adding the next.

While this was going on I also cooked 4 large rashers of shoulder bacon in a very little butter (I find it tends to stick, otherwise) until crispy round the edges. Once that was done I drained it & chopped it into smallish pieces, before cooking 12-15 sage leaves in the fat that remained in the pan. Be careful with this – they need very little time to go crispy!

By this time the pumpkin was done & the risotto was creamy & tender. I added 1/2 c of sour cream to the rice & stirred that through, following it with the bacon & the pumpkin, scooped out of its skin with a dessertspoon to give reasonably big chunks. And then we ate it all up, with lashings of parmesan & the rest of the wine on the side. (No, Trevor, I did not drink it all!)

9 responses »

      • 500g pumpkin (cooked)
        3/4C sugar
        1tsp cinnamon
        1/2tsp ginger
        3 eggs lightly beaten
        150mL evaporated milk.

        Mash pumpkin and blend ingredients together. Pour into pie dish lined with sweet short crust pastry (We usually get the pre-rolled stuff from the supermarket – much easier to work with). Bake @ 180C for 25 min or till skewer comes out clean.

        Eat hot or cold with whipped cream – I prefer cold, straight from the fridge.

        I usually do double the mix so I don’t have half a can of evaporated milk lying around.

  1. Feel free to re-post, I was told this was a weight watchers recipe (minus the pastry) but can’t find any evidence that this is true. Boy it tastes good though. 🙂

  2. yum! That sounds sooo good. Although I suspect the sugar would put it off the list of ‘diet foods’ – & that’s before one weighs in with the whipped cream!

    Will do a repost as part of a series on What To Do With Pumpkins, I think (for those who don’t read the comments threads 🙂 )

    • Made a large batch and there was a noticeable gradient in sweetness over the pies…the earlier ones still tasted good so I’m thinking the amount of sugar can be decreased without too much trouble.

      Perhaps someone with lots of pumpkins could experiment with different sugar ratios? 🙂

Leave a Reply

