mini pork patties with veges & orange-soy sauce

Standard

So, this morning I got a packet of pork mince (about 300g) out of the freezer. And this evening I decided we were having it as little patties, seasoned with Thai spice mix (thank you, Continental!) & served with quickly stir-fried veges & an orange-soy sauce, over rice.

First, I put the rice on to cook (2 cups of rice, covered 2 inches deep with cold water, & lightly salted): I find if I bring it to the boil & then turn the element off, the residual heat cooks it through while I’m dealing with everything else. Plus it doesn’t boil over so that you have that starchy mess all over the cooktop.

For veges: brocco-flower head, separated into florets & blanched; a large red pepper, thinly sliced; and 2-3 golf-ball zucchini, thinly sliced. Just what was available from garden & market; other mixes would work too.

For the patties, I first took the crusts off 3 slices of bread, then tore each slice into smallish bits & left them to soak in a mix of an egg & a splash of soya sauce. (I find that using this, I get meat balls/patties that are really tender.) Then I mixed them together & added one red onion, very finely diced, a couple of tablespoons of finely chopped garlic chives, & about a tablespoon of Thai spice mix. Finally I dropped in the pork mince & worked the whole lot together before shaping it into walnut-sized balls. (Think, large walnuts.) This amount of meat gave me 18 little balls.

I heated 2-3 tblsp of vegetable oil in a heavy frying pan & added the meat, flattening each ball to give a little patty. You’d need to cook them in two batches. The reason I flatten them is that they cook evenly & – just as important! – I don’t have to muck about turning them all the time 🙂 Then I moved them onto a plate & used a slotted spoon to fish out all the brown crunchy bits (you knew that was coming!) onto the plate as well.

Into the oil remaining in the pan I dropped 2 tblsp of finely chopped root ginger & 5 cloves of garlic (crushed), & gave it a brisk stir for about 30 seconds before adding the zucchini & pepper strips and – a minute or so later – the broccoflower. I followed this with the zest & juice from 2 oranges & 1/4 c dark soya sauce, and thickened the sauce with 2 tsp cornflour mixed to a paste with a little water. And finally, tipped the patties back into the pan and gently mixed everything so that patties & vegetables were covered with the dark, sweetly-sticky sauce.

Apparently the daughter’s friends are keen to turn up en masse for dinner…

 

About alison

Uni lecturer (& ex-school teacher); involvement in NCEA standards & NZ curriculum development; keen blogger & general science communicator. In 2010 I won a national (NZ) Tertiary Teaching Excellence Award & through this became a member of the Ako Aotearoa Academy.

Leave a Reply

